Second call for applications to join the UN Women Civil Society Advisory Group for Latin America and the Caribbean

New closing date: 24 April 2020

Date: Tuesday, March 31, 2020

The UN Women Regional Office for the Americas and the Caribbean is doing for a second call for applications for the partial renewal of its Civil Society Advisory Group (CSAG). It encourages people committed to gender equality and women's empowerment to submit their nominations for this process, as well as to distribute this call among their networks. It is essential to mention that those who submitted their application in the first call do not need to reapply; their candidacy remains valid.

UN Women's Civil Society Advisory Groups (CSAGs) are advisory bodies established at the global, regional and national levels to facilitate effective, ongoing and structured consultations between civil society and UN Women, and constitute an institutional mechanism for regular dialogue between UN Women and leaders of the women's movement and women's organizations on crucial gender equality priorities and issues.

The CSAG advises UN Women on public policies, normative, and intergovernmental processes and constitutes a channel for consultation with civil society. CSAG members are highly qualified civil society activists with diverse experience and knowledge about UN Women's priority areas.

Among some of the requirements, applicants for membership are expected to have a strong connection to women's or feminist networks and organizations related to UN Women's thematic areas, and with have extensive experience in promoting gender equality and women's human rights. Academic and research experience will also be relevant, as will knowledge of public policy, legislation, and international treaties on gender equality. It is important to note that membership of the regional CSAG is held in an individual capacity and is unpaid.

On this occasion, seven (7) members will be selected: one (1) from the non-Spanish-speaking Caribbean countries; two (2) from Mexico and Central America; one (1) from the Andean countries (Bolivia, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru, and Venezuela); and three (3) from Brazil and the Southern Cone (Argentina, Chile, Paraguay, and Uruguay).

See the requirements and more information in the Terms of Reference available in the following languages:

 Inglés | Spanish | Portuguese | French    


New closing date: 24 April 2020

*To facilitate the process in the current context by COVID-19, documents with electronic signature will be accepted.